Pres Weah Names Kontoe as Ad-Hoc Sit-in Justice

President George Mannah Weah, in keeping with Article 67 of the Constitution of the Republic of Liberia, has appointed His Honor J. Boima Kontoe as Ad-Hoc Justice to sit for the hearing and determination of a Writ of Prohibition in the matter His Honor Kabineh M. Ja’neh, Associate Justice, Supreme Court of Liberia- Petitioner versus the House of Representatives of the National Legislature, by and through its Speaker, Honorable Bhofal Chambers-Respondents.

Also on Tuesday, October 30, 2018, president Weah nominated Archie Donmo, as Director General of the Liberia Petroleum Regulatory Authority.

Mr. Donmo’s nomination is however subject to confirmation by the Honorable Liberian Senate.

The President has also submitted before the 54th national Legislature, a bill calling for the cancellation of tenured positions within the Executive Branch of Government.

The bill entitled “An Act Prohibiting the Tenure of Public Officials Within the Executive Branch of Government” on Tuesday surfaced on the agenda of the House of Representatives read by Deputy Chief Clerk, J. Sayfah Geeplay, during the first day sitting of the of the Legislature’s re-called session currently ongoing on Capitol.

Immediately after the adoption of the agenda, the Members of the House voted to go in Executive Session.

Tenured positions include National Social Security and Welfare Corporation (NASSCORP), Liberia Revenue Authority (LRA), Liberia Telecommunications Authority (LTA), Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC), and Central Bank of Liberia (CBL).

Others are Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (LEITI), National Elections Commission (NEC), Liberia National Lottery Authority, Liberia Maritime Authority, Public Procurement and Concessions Commission (PPCC), General Auditing Commission (GAC), Governance Commission and Civil Service Agency (CSA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *