Local Lone Star calls up Saah Nyumah from China to face Mauritania

Lone Star head coach James Salinsa Debbah has named defensive midfielder Saah Nyumah in his 26-man provisional squad to face Mauritania in the African Nations Championship or CHAN qualifiers.

The LISCR FC player is presently in China in search of a greener pasture.

The home-based national team kicked off its preparation for the July 16 encounter last Friday, July 7, at the George Weah Technical Center in careysburg, outside Monrovia.

Liberia Under-23 coach, Thomas Kojo disclosed on Monday that Saah is an integral part of the coaches’ plan for Sunday’s qualifier slated for the Samuel Kanyan Doe Sports Complex.

Kojo said the Liberia Football Association has officially been informed of the coaches’ decision, but it’s solely the responsibility of the local FA to send air ticket for the player or not.

Saah, who was preferred to 25 caps Theo Weeks in Lone Star’s midfield against Zimbabwe in the 2019 Africa Nations Cup qualifiers, has not featured for LISCR since Liberia’s 3-0 defeat to the Warriors in Harare on June 11.

The lad was terrific in his debut against Kenya in an international friendly on November 15, 2016.

Only players playing in their country’s domestic league are eligible to compete in the African Nations Championship or CHAN.

Full list of players called up:

Goalkeepers – Tommy Songo (LISCR FC), Arlington Sengbeh (BYC) Abdulai Koulibaly (Monrovia Club Breweries)

Defenders – Darius Kai (LISCR FC) Nuwo Johnson (FC Fassell), Malaika Cooker (Watanga FC), Daniel Woto (LISCR FC), Aloysius Simujla (FC Fasselle), Carlos Williams (Watanga FC), Kemoh Kamara (BYC) Alvin Maccornel (FC Fasselle), Richard Lloyd(LISCR FC).

Midfielders – Prince Balde (Monrovia Club Breweries) Saah Nyumah (LISCR FC), Wilton Ninneh (Nimba United) John Jaysay (FC Fassell).

Others are David Tweh (BYC), James Wlatee (FC Fassell) Kelvin Polis (Watanga FC), Curtis Koon(Monrovia Club Breweries) ,Prince Saydee (BYC) and Terrance Tisdell (FC Fassell).

Attackers – Christopher Jackson (LISCR FC), Van Dave Harmon (BYC), Mustapha Lomell (Nimba United) Mark Paye (BYC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *